Joe Gideon

New Album Coming, Early 2020

Videos, Films & Trailers

‘Expandable Mandible’

‘The Lady With The Metallic Voice’


UK Tour! Supporting Kevin Morby

Next week! I’ll be sharing the stage with KEVIN MORBY for a mini UK tour in Brighton, London, Leeds and Manchester in November. As promised, Jim Sclavunos and Gris-de-Lin will be on band duty for the shows. Very much looking forward to this!

Tickets on sale now ➫
(London is already sold out, so be quick!)

Image may contain: 1 person

New single! The Gaping Yawn

New single ‘The Gaping Yawn’ is out now!🦎
It’s the second song taken from my forthcoming album ‘Armagideon’ and is available digitally now. Listen to ‘The Gaping Yawn’ –

Pre-order the album and get the single instantly –

No photo description available.

‘Box’ revealed! New video

‘Box’ revealed! 📦

Official preposterous video for my song ‘Expandable Mandible’ made by Phil Wrixton, simply entitled, “Box”.

Despite head decapitation, a lot of fun was had making this…

Showcase this Wednesday, September 25th

Excited to be playing this wednesday night!… It’ll be a short 20 minute set from us, and it’s free to get in! Just email to get on the guest list. Showtime 10.10 p.m

Image may contain: text

New Single! Expandable Mandible


So happy to share my new song ‘Expandable Mandible’ with you all. It’s getting royally re-released courtesy of my new label, the amazing Clouds Hill. It’s the 1st song taken from my new album, entitled ‘Armagideon’, which is out on 31st January and available for pre-order now. Special thanks to Jim Sclavunos and Gris-de-Lin for recording the tune with me! Be sure to see us all on a stage near you soon…

Listen to ‘Expandable Mandible’ ➫
Pre-order ‘Armagideon’ ➫


There are currently no forthcoming tour dates


Steven Thomassen at Toutpartout /



Versa Vice

Released 13th November 2015 on Bronze Rat Records

  1. Eve’s Rib
  2. Naked Eye
  3. The Lady With The Metallic Voice
  4. Eugene Went Crazy
  5. Rubber Room
  6. Heart Attack Girl
  7. Salvation
  8. The Past Is Never Over
  9. Fearsome
Intensely Spirited Mojo
A Triumph of Freakish Weird! Fatea


Joe Gideon & The Shark

Released 7th January 2013 on Bronze Rat Records

  1. I’m Ruined
  2. Snake Candy
  3. Poor Born
  4. The Insignificant Bullet
  5. You, The Pole & The Rastafarian
  6. Nine Bells Of Hell
  7. Higher Power/Where Have All The Good Times Gone
  8. Freakish
  9. Friday 13
Wickedly Inventive Uncut
Immaculately Deranged The Mirror

Harum Scarum

Joe Gideon & The Shark

Released 8th March 2009 on Bronze Rat Records

  1. Harum Scarum
  2. Civilisation
  3. DOL
  4. Kathy Ray
  5. Johan Was A Painter & Arsonist
  6. Hide & Seek
  7. True Nature
  8. Anything You Love That Much, You Will See Again
  9. Pale Blue Dot
Astonishing NME
It’s Brilliant – 4.5/5 The Sun

Liar’s Exit

Bikini Atoll

Released 6th June 2005 on Bella Union

  1. I Turned A Blind Eye
  2. Bluebeard
  3. Eve’s Rib
  4. Remains
  5. Nervous Wreck
  6. The Conversation
  7. Shark Requiem
  8. Silver Moon
  9. Cement Names
  10. Autumn’s Child
  11. Secret Filming


Bikini Atoll

Released 2nd February 2004 on Bella Union

  1. Moratoria
  2. Then Amplify
  3. Cinnamon
  4. Black River Falls
  5. Black Dog
  6. Cheap Trick
  7. Perfect Method Flawed
  8. Desolation Highway
  9. Clear Water Gravity


In a review for his debut solo album Versa Vice in 2016, Joe Gideon was described as playing “Pithy, powerful, lyrically erudite and observational, post-financial crisis English blues.” (Mike Barnes – Wire)

Joe Gideon first came to wider attention with his band, Bikini Atoll, signed to Bella Union in 2003. The first album, Moratoria, was critically well received, with the lead track ‘Desolation Highway’ (described by The Independent as “…an awesome, soul-searching slice of sprawling Americana”) featured in the film My Little Eye. Their second album Liar’s Exit, recorded with Steve Albini and released through Bella Union in 2005, received glowing reviews from the likes of NME and Q magazine.

Soon after, Joe decided to hone his craft as a songwriter and lyricist and formed Joe Gideon & The Shark, a two-piece band with his sister Viva. Their debut album, Harum Scarum, released in 2009 on Bronzerat Records, achieved rave reviews and a rare 6-stars-out-of-5 review in Time Out magazine, with reviewer Bella Todd observing, “To be funny and moving at the same time is one thing, but their combination of true grit and grace is rarer still.” Joe Gideon & The Shark toured with Seasick Steve and Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds to packed venues across the UK; but by the time their second album, Freakish came out in 2012, also to great reviews, Joe and Viva had decided to move on.

Having made friends with Bad Seed Jim Sclavunos on tour, Joe invited Jim to contribute drums to his debut solo LP, Versa Vice. Released in 2016 also on Bronzerat, this under-the-radar release nonetheless elicited raves from blogs & online press, including Joyzine (“A dark but rewarding trip into the shadowy corners of the human mind”) and Penny Black Music (“A master class in minimalism”).

And now, Joe has teamed up with the Clouds Hill Label and, ahead of the release of his upcoming new album,  due early 2020, Joe has returned with a brand-new single ‘Expandable Mandible’. The track, produced by Jim Sclavunos, (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds/Grinderman), is available for airplay following its release on 13thSeptember 2019.

The new record was written and recorded with Jim and band mate Gris-De-Lin. Joe, Gris and Jim play all the instruments in the densely layered arrangements, which include an army of saxophones, an antique piano, a cranky old synth-vibraphone rescued from the dumpster, heavenly choirs and a menagerie of percussion instruments. The new single is a statement of intent ahead of the new album release — the listener can look forward to Joe’s ruminations on, amongst other things, time travel, primordial bliss and reptile people.



Management /


Steven Thomassen at Toutpartout /


Publisher /

Mailing List